WatchDog21

Seiko 4004 Case Back Removal and cleaned up

WatchDog21

Not sure how this one comes off and I don't want to experiment and really screw the back up.  Now I am not talking about the battery compartment, I got that, all be it a real bugger.  I want to get the movement out so that I can clean the case.  If you look at the upper left corner of the case, a red circle marks a pin hole of sorts, not sure what that is for. 

Anyway, does anybody know how this comes apart?  Is this a snap back?  A screw down back?  I do not see the typical small slot for prying off a snap back case so I am just not sure. Perhaps @andyboy or @Foxindebox  I know you guys do a lot of Seiko work.  Any help is appreciated.

39888940604_e8f7910bfe_b.jpg

Glaude

I'm no expert, but I remember seeing a video of this one (can't find it right now)

The case back is fixed and all the disassembly is done by the front (removing the crystal, bezel, gasket) and then you should see a lever to remove the stem and pop out the movement

According to this short thread : http://forums.watchuseek.com/f6/seiko-quartz-4004-new-battery-but-not-running-922085.html

WatchDog21
3 minutes ago, Glaude said:

I'm no expert, but I remember seeing a video of this one (can't find it right now)

The case back is fixed and all the disassembly is done by the front (removing the crystal, bezel, gasket) and then you should see a lever to remove the stem and pop out the movement

According to this short thread : http://forums.watchuseek.com/f6/seiko-quartz-4004-new-battery-but-not-running-922085.html

good info, thanks!

Haltec

seiko-sq-4004-quartz-case-number-4633-80

WatchDog21
29 minutes ago, Haltec said:

From this pic it would seem that this is a snap back and that the small pin hole I reference is where one would use something to pry open the back

WatchDog21
46 minutes ago, Haltec said:

6 minutes ago, Glaude said: