Sign in to follow this  
Hinclimincli

Railmaster 39mm back?

Hinclimincli

Hiya!

Newbie here, but I have been lurking several forums for quite a while. I got myself a very nice Railmaster from Josh back in 2009, some people seem to talk about these versions as super reps because of the AR, decent line, decent movement ("Swiss" ETA), etc. But to me it has always had a very obvious tell: the transparent case back.

The moment you pick up the watch you can see that there isn't any coaxial Omega movement there.

I'm usually wearing it on a black NATO (after all, it's some kind of Rolex Explorer, isn't it?) and it looks pretty good. But at some point I'd like to get a good leather strap or even a bracelet. Anyone has a clue on where could I get a decent closed back? I guess it should be a closed Seamaster Aqua Terra 39mm, isn't it?

This is the watch in question, btw:

IMG_20170328_084223-01-01_zps1hqpmagx.jpeg

A wristie:

IMG_20170331_184928_zpsffayktdq.jpg

And lume pic (I hear the new ones don't have lume on the dial?!)

IMG_20170328_084706_zpsycylipgi.jpg

Thanks everyone!

frank73

best ever

Genius

Why bother who the fuck is gonna be looking at the back of your watch

phone

This. The front of my RM is the most obvious tell in the world, and people are just like: "Cool watch man." The general public has no idea what you're wearing to be honest.

Hinclimincli

I know, to be honest 90% of the people wouldn't be able to tell, even when looking at the back. It's just that classic, "wow, nice watch, can I take a look?".

Of course you can always say "no, bugger off, but it still feels awkward.

Obviously, if there's no simple solution I'm happy to keep it on the NATO as it covers the back perfectly ;-)

narikaa

Maybe that self same bogey man that performs citizen's arrests on all those terrified, minutia obsessed rep Rolex owners

;)

RUSH2112

If they ask to see the back of your watch show them the back of your hand.

dilip