JohnG

Official Strap Making Thread

JohnG

Part 1 of 5, FROGMAN STRAP MAKING TUTORIAL, REPOSTED WITHOUT PERMISSION FROM REPGEEK

INTRODUCTION TO MAKING A STRAP

This is my first attempt at writing a “how-to†post….so please be patient when I start rambling. I have been strapped (no pun intended) for time lately, so I broke this write-up into 3 sections. When I started making straps I found a few posts on how to cut, glue, and stitch the leather. However, it took some time to track down where to buy the supplies. I found that finding the leather and selecting the tools was very time consuming. I never realized how many types of leather tools were available. So, to save you time and energy I will show you what I use and where I got my supplies. DISCLOSER: I’m not the best at making straps, but I enjoy doing it and I wanted to pass the fun along to others. If your strap turns out looking like crap, or if you find yourself spending a lot of money on leather hides or tools, please don’t blame the frogman.

Enjoy!

First, we need to gather our tools and pick a piece of leather. Having the right tools for the job will make your project run smoother and you will be happy with the end result. Many of the posts I’ve seen jump right into making the strap, but skip the most basic information….Where do I find the tools and supplies? We will cover this FIRST! Here is a picture of the tools I chose:

1. Hammer (any one will do)

2. Clamps (Home depot)

3. Super glue (any brand will do)

4. Knife (any one will do)

5. End Punch (I suggest the 1" version)

6. Compass (any brand will do)

7. Waxed Thread (black, brown, white)

8. Stitching Needles (this is my preference)

9. Ruler (I suggest a t-square)

10. OH YEAH, don't forget a cutting board

~The Stitching Necessities~