Sign in to follow this  
graman

Welcome to Sawdust and Ink!

graman

Welcome to my online shop!

I’ve been half convinced, and have half convinced myself to start this, however I wanted to say up front that I am a hobbyist, and wish to retain my enthusiasm as a hobbyist, so therefore I’m keen to start this process as an experiment.

Needless to say, the generosity and patience of the Mod team has been brilliant!

Guarantee.

I select all mechanisms from the best quality that I can source, and therefore, I will ensure that if a mechanism fails, I will repair the pen or replace it, provided that it has not been damaged or deliberately pushed beyond its limits.

Please note that all pens are not Dishwasher safe, Laundry safe, or fire retardant and are not to be taken orally.

Stock:

Stock is sold on what is advertised, as it is what I have on hand. I don’t source timber from buying it in. If I do so, it is a rarity. My timber is mostly sourced from trees cut down in the local area in Central Victoria, Australia where my father has resided for many years. Dad usually salvages timber from locally cut down trees, felled by neighbours, local councils and farmers. Some of the more exotic woods tend to come from retired wood turners, or peers who are quitting a lot of their stock in preference for a particular type of wood hobby, such as clock making, furniture making, joinery etc.

Finishes.

I have a couple of major finishes: Prices may vary on similarly made pens, due to the nature of the finish, or the kit used within.

1. Natural finish: This is sanded to a fine grit, then cut and polished, and finished with Shellawax. This gives an initial sheen, however most of these pens (particularly the darker woods), will darken over time, as the wood absorbs oil from your fingers. Harder woods lend themselves to a finish like this, and I find it particularly interesting to use one of these pens regularly, and watch it transform over time.