scavenger

REVIEW – New TAG Heuer Link Calibre 16 Chronograph

scavenger

Let me preface this review by saying that I am new to the rep scene. I only got into this less than 2 months ago and up until then my only knowledge of reps was of cheap knock-offs hawked on the streets of Asian holiday destinations. Never did I imagine there was a world of high-end top-quality replicas waiting to be discovered. Then I ran into this and the other forums. I read, and searched, and read, and searched, and then read some more… and gradually built my knowledge base. So my heartfelt thanks go out to the admins that maintain this forum, to those experts who write their awesome reviews, to those who take the time to share their knowledge by way of FAQs, and also those who contribute their individual opinions to the rep community.

I've lurked the entire time I've been here, I’d like to now contribute my little bit by way of this review. My dear friends, I present to you the (replica) TAG Heuer Link Chronograph.

01Banner_1_zpsfd6911e9.jpg

Admittedly, I’ve always been a fan to TAG watches. I've owned 2 quartz models of the 2000 series up until a year ago. These have served me well, each lasting well over 10 years before I replaced them. Then in 2010 the Link series caught my eye. My grail watch was now the Link Calibre S and a year later I was able to purchase this. Later in 2011, TAG refreshed its Link series. The changes were relatively subtle and can be found in the dial face, subdials, bezel, case and bracelet. More information on these updates can be found here and here.

While I was, and still am, thoroughly happy with my purchase of the superseded Calibre S, I was intrigued by the new line and found the Chronograph quite appealing. So imagine my pleasure at discovering that a rep of this existed and that it looked, to my eye at least, to be quite accurate! Here’s a comparison of the gen (left) and the rep (right).

02GenRepcomparison_zpsa2f643b4.jpg