Sign in to follow this  
RolexAddict

THE ASIAN SECONDS AT 6.00

RolexAddict

tittle.jpg

The seconds at 6.00 gear train, The conclusion.

My own theory:

I could be wrong, but I try to reason as a Cartesian and with logic. Since I have disassembled the first plate under the dial, observed these 4 gears moving, touch and remove all, I am not convicted of the drag or what else. When I put back the plate, screwed back the 3 screws holding this plate, evrything sounds like well assembled, nothing who remains my attention... except the little bit of play between these 4 wheels and this makes me think about the jerky seconds hand.

Again, I could be wrong, I am not a professional.

Reviews from varied boards about the oiling or graphite coating this gear train retained my attention. Even if I'm not convicted, I admit that anyway, put grease, oil or graphite on these gears, will not affect anything and can only be good.

The problem is the disassembling. Its not so easy like on a ETA, to remove the hands and dial. Also re-stack every thing at the right position especially the chrono hand. Hours and minutes hands are big and thick but the black line in the middle is made from water paint, the sub-dial hands are stacked very tight, they need to be removed with a appropriate hands remover made for chrono hands to avoid to brake the gears hand axes. It happened to me, and not the first time, more time later. But fortunatly, these are generic gears, and I have a "magic box" with lot of various gears picked out from old crap chinese movements...

So the gear train graphite coating job is not so easy. I forgot: the dial is hard to remove as the hooks holding the tenons are inverted when locked and the assembly is very tight.

I will make my conclusion on this chapter with pics and comments, and again new pics who confirm there are not 11 gears causing drag.

Here from letf to right: the dial, the removed first plate under the dial and what you see is the so mystic gear train...