Sign in to follow this  
Aren

Ebay Auction - Can you Help Me Please

Aren

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...e=STRK:MEWAX:IT

Seller states that he did not open the case back.

You guys know I am a novice. I would ask one of you to look at this watch for me.

I wouldn't buy something on Ebay without asking you guys for an opinion.

If the movement can't be seen, how can the watch be adequately examined?

I was told that the flaking on the hands can be normal even on a gen vintage watch.

My messages went like this:

9 February 2011

Dear bench315,

Is there a reason why you haven't shown the movement?

Will you open the case and post a photograph?

If this is a genuine Omega, I would like to see the movement.

Thanks,

- arenarias

10 February 2011

Dear arenarias,

You don't seem to trust me... a seller of vintage watches with 27000+ feedbacks. I don't like to open good running watches. My old watchmaker said if it ain't broke don't fix it. Especially these smaller watches are not the easiest to open. I'll look at it tonight after woork but I assure you this is a real Omega with a real OMEGA MOVEMENT. My reputation is staked on that, Sincerely, Wayne

- bench315

11 February 2011

Hello Bench,

Why would you think that my wanting to see the movement is a challenge to your credibility. Removing the case back is not asking you to touch the movement or alter the watch.

It is ok if you don't want to remove the case back, but if you do not know what the movement looks like, how do you know the watch is genuine? Just curious. I am not trying to give you a hard time, but I cannot tell the difference sometimes between a genuine watch and a replica watch without looking at the movement. If you know how to do this, I would greatly and gratefully appreciate knowing how. No offense whatsoever to you Sir.

Thank you,

Arenaria

RWG Members...