Sign in to follow this  
Ginault

Rolex Submariner Homage Project

Ginault

Hi, I am Charles. I collect fine Swiss-made timepieces, and also I am a watchmaker by passion.

I’ve been working as an industrial designer for the past 12 years, and I started learning about watchmaking 6 years ago as a hobby. What can I say, gears in motion just has its own fascinating quality.

During the years, most of my learning and work focused on the movement part of the watch as the making of a watch exteriors posses no challenge to a veteran industrial designer.

However, one shocking news changed all that. It was a sad day for most avid watch fans when Rolex announced the discontinuation of their production of their dacade old tradition, the Rolex Submariner 16610.

The Rolex Submariner is a modern horological marvel. Its design, water proof character, and functionality appeals to professionals at large. The Rolex Submariner Date 16610, in my point of view, is the most sophisticated in design from the line's incarnation in 1945.

I’ve decided to take on a project; to build a homage Submariner 16610 which I call the Base Module 1, based on my experience, resources, and understanding of the fine Swiss time piece in honor of this century old design.

In the following days, I will summarize and convert my project log, which was hand written, into digital form and update it here on a Watchmaking blog and the forum for every Rolex fans to share.

Rolex Submariner Homage Project (Part 1)

Journal Date 03/26/2010 to 04/04/2010

Upon learning the shocking news and the decision to make my own homage Sub 16610 I went to my local watch store and ordered 2 Subs. V serial Sub 16610 and 16610LV.

You ask me if it’s worth it? It is worth every penny for this beautiful engineering marvel.

The oyster casing is a perfect balance between functionality and showmanship.

The first step of making the Submariner 16610 homage is to come up with some rough drafts.