Psssniper

Mystery Vintage Rolex... what do we have here?

Psssniper

Friend and I were talking watches the other day and he mentioned that he had an old Rolex that he inherited from his dad. He sent me two pics and I have searched but am unable to find a match.  Maybe its a bad old fake? Maybe it's just old and undesirable? He asked what I thought of sending it to Rolex for refurbishing and repair and I said NO!!!! Explained vintage, patina, originality and all that jazz, he gets it. Now we are both curious as to what he has, it's approx value and whether it's worth restoration by someone who would keep it original.  He has no desire to sell it as it has sentimental value.  On to the pics!

wc68I.md.jpg
wcnA4.md.jpg

RussP

Whilst I'm no expert (and the pic quality could be better), I'd say it was from the 50's and possibly a bubble-back 5050.

I'd be in favour of a restoration, but I guess that'd put me in the minority.

Mystery Shopper

What is the dial size?

I just had a look on line and the Rolex Oyster 6xxx series from the 1950s look likely (like 6084, 6144) but I haven't found a match yet.

Psssniper

I'll check in with him tomorrow on the dial size and try to get some better pics :)

I'll try and get the watch in hand if I can!

fatarms

1955 Oyster 6422?

https://watchestobuy.com/shop/rolexoyster6422-htm/

• Like 1

fatarms

99% of the examples I'm finding of the mid-50's 6422 have the "PRECISION" wording on the dial near 6, and most of the ones without the "PRECISION" are baton hour markers.  So far, the one I posted above is the only 3 6 9 dial I've found without the "PRECISION" on the dial.

Psssniper
14 minutes ago, fatarms said:

1955 Oyster 6422?

https://watchestobuy.com/shop/rolexoyster6422-htm/

Holy smokes I think we have a winner!

Psssniper