mattpne

PAM1392 Rep Vs Gen

mattpne

I recently purchased a PAM1392 from @mos009 with the intention to compare to my gen version. The aim being to see if it could replace the gen in my collection and free up funds for something else I have my eye on!

I’m no professional photographer, and by no means a PAM expert but here’s a couple of side by side pics @Philiusmaximusand my initial thoughts (gen is on the grey ostrich strap):

ZYacCv.jpg
ZYaxc8.jpg
ZYabwR.jpg
ZYabwR.jpg

ZYaS3Q.jpg
ZYaF7S.jpg
ZYagS1.jpg

First impressions are that the replica is a really solid, high quality watch. Looking face on, it’s practically indistinguishable from the gen. The dial printing maybe isn’t as crisp, and the date font is a smidge too thick but you’d need them side by side to notice.

You start to notice the differences when viewed from the side, with the rep being a good few mm thicker than the gen. Most of this is in the screw down caseback.

The back of the watch has differences too...the obvious one being the difference in movement but then more subtle differences like the depth and precision of the engravings and the strap change mechanism.

The strap change mechanism itself works well but not with the same smoothness as the gen.

The crown guard and lever is really well done and no discernible difference to gen.

I believe the rep has a seagull st255 movement and it’s been running well so far (losing maybe 20-30 seconds a day). Time and date setting all very solid. Both the gen and the rep do have a level of rotor noise but nothing that bothers me.

Overall, I’m very pleased with the watch. Is it enough to make me sell the gen? I think it’s too early to say at this point...I’d like to live with it for a few more weeks before making a decision on that.

Thanks, Matt

• Like 6

deju

@mattpne it’s a tough call I feel with the gen vs rep debate when it comes to Panerai.