Awk Ward

How long do these watches last?

Awk Ward

Hi,

I'm a complete noob, who just landed up in the rep world after getting utterly frustrated dealing with authorised dealers (of Rolex). At first glance, this seemed to be an irresistible proposition - owning my dream watch which I've lusted quite a lot for, at a fraction of it's price.. which for all practical purposes is indistinguishable from the genuine! I ordered a Noob Explorer1 the very first day I landed up in the rep time Reddit page.

Then I started reading.. and I see that one aspect is conspicuously missing in the discussions. Nobody seems to mention how long these watches last.

Is it because they are "cheap" compared to their genuine counterparts to bother about.. or because it's taken for granted that the reps only has a fraction of longevity of the gens.. or because newer and better models/versions appear time to time making the older ones obsolete? Or, finally, could it be because they're all generally running well without major issues.

As someone planning to invest heavily in reps, I dearly hope it's the latter. Could some seasoned buyers comment on the longevity of reps in general, from their past experience?

Many thanks

Edited by Awk Ward

Devil

Mt oldest rep was from 15 years ago and still runs, never wear it though as it's a shitter...

These high end reps you should expect a good lifespan, really hard to say how long but I've been here a few years and bought a load and never had any problems

If you were to run into problems, as long as you can get a watchsmith that will work on reps they are fairly easy and cheap to fix.

etj4588

I had a rep last 17 years.  But then I forgot to take it off when I went into the Atlantic ocean.

PostMaster

My oldest rep is since 2009.. Think my TD back then sent me the original they bought from AD to copy lol. But it’s how you look after them too.

:) 

SteveA

Got a Cheapie about ten years old still going strong,1 service in all that time

Simonix