maniqwils

How do you ask people about their watch, and start a conversation?

maniqwils

Hello,

How do you start a conversation with someone about the watch they are wearing? I'm talking about strangers as well as people you work with.

I'm new to watches and have never posted before, hoping you can help.

In person, I have asked a few people with watches about what their watch is. I usually say: "Oh, what kind of watch is t *SPAM LINK* his?". This is to co-workers, and some of my direct reports (I'm a manager). Most people become very awkward and in a somewhat embarrassed way say "Ohhh, it's just this [fossil/whatever] watch I have". It feels like it's turning into some sort of class/social strata thing where they almost sound ashamed about what they have.  *SPAM LINK*

When I asked I had been wearing my Casio Gschock GLX-5600 that's 10+ years old, or a Casio MTD-1020 (which I bought at a thrift shop). I think most watches are awesome and amazing things. I just got a Seiko SKX007 as my first mechanical, so none of my watches are gold.

Am I asking in the wrong way for people who know me but are more junior to me at work? Or are watches too intertwined as status symbols for a healthy conversation with those junior to me.

Is there a good way to ask strangers (people on the train, someone else in a bar, etc.) about their watch without making it look like you're about to steal their watch or it being weird?

Cheers.

GingerApple

This post makes me feel like self harming.

BadPickle
12 minutes ago, TheGingerFerret said:

This post makes me feel like self harming.

Most members here are openly wishing you would. 
Seems like you have some serious memory loss too 

• Like 2

Philiusmaximus
22 minutes ago, maniqwils said:

Hello,

How do you start a conversation with someone about the watch they are wearing? I'm talking about strangers as well as people you work with.

I'm new to watches and have never posted before, hoping you can help.