manphibian

VSF PAM 968 (Bronzo submersible) owners.....?

manphibian

Have one of these on the way,  and should arrive just before i go on a trip away,   just wondering how you guys found the watches when you got them?   Did they need a service?  Specifically water resistance,  would they stand up to getting splashed a bit in the sea  (not actual swimming / diving)  or not?

Philiusmaximus

I've no experience with that model personally. However I wouldn't take any of my watches into the water without pressure testing. Gens included.

Most of my watches are watertight but I've never had the balls to take my Pam reps in water. You're relying on the quality of the seal made by the crown guard mechanism. Having had a gen Pam, none of the reps feel as tight and secure as the real thing so out of all my reps I've always considered Pam reps to be the least likely to be watertight from factory. I could be wrong.

Nott121

Hey mates, i have had a pam571 from vsf, i just opened case back and back seal was good enough to be lubricated. Then i replaced thé crown o ring with a thicker one that added pressure on the crown by adding thickness.
Checked the waterproofness by submerging the movement empty case in the pool for one night... Then checked the following morning and boom, no water inside.
So i used this watch for swimming in the pool and at the beach and no leak no water inside and i have used it for three years this way.
So to sum UP things, rép factories make other diving watches and dispose of quality sealS so any OOTB rep should be watertight.
Best advice is to have it checked by a watchsmith or the way i do if you know how to tear off your rep.

Ibanez