JASPER185

Asian ETA2813 GMT reliability

JASPER185

Hi, newbie here and I’m wondering if anyone’s had experience with this movement in a GMT.  I’d no idea there was a 2813 gmt, my only gmt experience so far being with the modded Eta2836.   Is this gmt a mod and would it still the case that the 2813 is a less reliable movement?  Any advice appreciated!  

GenTLe

ETA 2813 in the same sentence doesn't make sense, 2813 is the DG2813, which is a clone of the Miyota 82xx series, which again is a basic 21600BPH time/date only, used in the "AliExpress/DHGate" cheaper watches.

There are around cheap GMT that are kind of similar to the 2813, but again those have lower beat frequency (Rolex has 28800BPH) and are relatively cheap movements. Not comparable to rolex clones or the Ghuanzhou 6460 which is the "GMT 2836" which again is based on the ETA 2836. Note: the "GMT 2836" comes in 2 flavours, the good one is the one that has the hand stack made of GMT (nearest to the dial), hour, minute and second hand, which is incorrect for Rolex since Rolex has a hand stack made from hour (nearest to the dial), gmt, minutes, seconds. The "correct hand stack 2836" is atrocious and should be let alone...

• Like 1

APjumbo

It seems to me that a few years ago there would be a good argument to go with a gmt with a low beat or choose reliability over say a CHS 2836.

Now that you can get a watch with a VR3186 (rolex clone) that have so far seem pretty reliable, it seems to make more sense to pay a few bucks more and skip the affordable gmt movements.

Is anyone still buying ICHS 2836 stuff?

JASPER185