Sign in to follow this  
toehh

Seiko Fifty Fathoms project (PIC HEAVY)

toehh

Hey everybody!

For christmas I got a seiko SNZH55K1, a Blancpain Fifty Fathoms homage.

I decided to make it into a Seiko FFF. I bought a dial from 10watches and a closed caseback and a lumed bezel insert from yobokies. Then I ordered a sailcloth strap from bradystraps, still waiting on that one.

NOTE that I am a n00b and I'm just trying to help some people. I am not saying you should do it like I do and I'm no expert. So here we go!

This was the watch before I modded it:

2012-12-27120547.jpg

Next I removed the bezel insert. First I removed the bezel by sticking a caseback opener under the bezel all around. After it came of I used a stanley knife blade to separate the bezel insert from the bezel.

2012-12-28153237.jpg

After that I cleaned the excess glue from the bezel with white spirit.

2012-12-28153303.jpg

When it was clean I installed the bezel again before glueing the insert. This helps lining up the bezel perfectly with the 12 o'clock marker :)

2012-12-28164621.jpg

Then I glued it with GS hypo cement. Just a few drops on the bezel. Look at this beautiful lumeeee :AT:

2012-12-28170420.jpg

But as you can see the lume on the bezel and hands doesn't match the dial lume. So next I will replace the dial.

To do this you remove the movement first. When you want to remove the stem on this movement you will have to press this part very carefully while pulling the stem.

stemrelease_zps8cf3a1c4.jpg

When you have the movement out, place it in your holder, let it run untill empty (don't know how to let down the mainspring on this one) and set the time to 0:00. Protect your dial with a little piece of paper or a dial protector. Then remove the hands with your handspuller.

Turn the movement around and you will see two points where the dial is held. Push out the pins and the dial will come loose.

2013-01-20120637.jpg