Del

Del’s Photography Setup, Settings and System.

Del

I have been asked many times about what camera, settings, equipment and software I use when photographing watches so I have produced a short description below to help answer these questions. Before I start, please let me be absolutely clear that I am not a photography expert! I do not claim to be the oracle on photographing watches but I have learned a lot from others here on RWG who, along with lots of practice, have helped me develop my limited knowledge and skills to a point where I can produce fairly decent photographs of my watches. :)

Most people start by asking what camera I use. However, this is probably not as important as how you use whatever camera you may already own. My camera is nothing special and is probably regarded as an “entry level” DSLR model but I have been very happy with it both for general use and watch photography. This is what I use:-

• Olympus E420 DSLR
  • 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 Olympus Zuiko Digital Lens
  • 10 Megapixel

8436998913_e7f5d97018_o.jpg

8438082980_29249268f2_o.jpg

8438082954_0b5b06919b_o.jpg

So, that's my camera but what settings do I use? This of course is not always the same and depends on the situation and what effect I am trying to achieve in the photos. Having said that, I have “default” settings that I use for the indoor photo-shoots as follows:-

• Aperture Priority Mode
  • ISO 100
  • 2 second delayed shutter opening
  • Flash off
  • Auto focus

I will get back to the settings in more detail later but at this point I think it would be worth looking at my indoor photo-shoot setup:-

8438066106_0964eff3b2_c.jpg