Sign in to follow this  
DR3M3L

[TUTORIAL] Remove fingerprints/flaws

DR3M3L

There are a lot of people asking about removing flaws or fingerprints. As we all know their is quite a big chance you got something under your crystal you don't want it to be there (NEVER LOOK AT YOUR REPS WITH A LOOP! :( ).

Many newbies don't know how to remove it and are even annoying our TD's with questions or even deny a watch for a flaw. In my opinion this is not necessary and that's why I'm writing this.

For this tutorial I'll use my Pam111 and less watchtools to show you how easy it actually is. I'm not an expert and I think everyone is able to do this himself.

!!Before you start: My pics are made with a phone, don't expect any quality. I hope they will show everything you need to see.

!!This is not actually to win a competition, this is just to help you guys. If you think you can make a better tutorial, please do, support RWG!

This is my watch:

IMG_2325_zpse8e19089.jpg

(Thanks again for the strap Serge, it's awesome!!)

First, let make some space and remoce the strap from the case . In this case it's removed by simply unscrewing:

IMG_2326_zps875eb789.jpg

Looks much better:

IMG_2327_zpsaeb53a16.jpg

Turn around the watch..

IMG_2328_zps1d78434a.jpg

(Looks bad on a phono pic :( )

Now we need to open the caseback. I used just a latex handshoe to get some grip, most reps are not screwed that tight.

IMG_2329_zps64413da0.jpg

So now we have opened our caseback! If you have a closed caseback it might be the first time you see your movement. I really love this movement, but also really like automatic movements. If you have a cheap 21j movement you also need to remove a white plastic movement holder out of the case.

IMG_2330_zpsfb7f7090.jpg

On a Pam you first need to remove the crown protector, just two screws, like this:

IMG_0018_zps3cdce1c6.jpg

Then we need to get our crown + stem out of the movement. This should be done by unscrewing the following screw a bit: