rolex321

Rolex Submariner 5517 Milsub build on a budget.

rolex321

Hi,

Just thought I'd share my first build with everyone. This is my first build so go easy ha.

It started off as a cartel 1680 with a 21j movement, purchased from josh at perfect clones.

This was intended to be a budget build.

Then I carried out the following mods:

Drill lugs to 2mm to accept 2mm 316 steel bar for fixed bars. This was done with the watch in a vice and a hand drill. Slowly does it. Bars were then inserted, cut to length with a Dremel cutting bit and then ground back and polished. No need to micro weld, these things are solid.

Crown is to deep on the cartels so the stem/crown was put in a drill bit, and filed down with a bit of sandpaper wedged between the drill chuck and base of the crown. Not a perfect finish but it does the job. Really didn't want to lay out on a gen crown/tube.

Next came the dial. I purchased a 5517 dial from Helenarou, who kindly agreed to age it for me slighty. I've tried reluming before on a 5513 dial and completely destroyed it. A job really best left to the pros.

Sword hand set was purchased from rafflestime. This was the most accurate set I could find. The minute hand is correct (although I later discover to long for the 26mm dial) unlike all the other sets. The second hand however is of the seamaster type. This was cut down and reshaped. They were then dipped in acetone to remove the lume, and colour matched to the dial as close as I could get.

Bezel was purchased from cousins UK. Full military spec with the correct minutes all the way around. It however had the later pip with the metal surround. Not correct for this watch so I popped it out.