Sign in to follow this  
Del

A simple guide to taking lume photos.

Del

Let me say up front that I'm not an expert photographer! However, I have learned a lot about photographing watches in the past 12-18 months (mainly thanks to many folk on here!) and hopefully I can give beginners some help when trying to photograph the lume on their watches - I don't think this has been covered in great detail before but apologies if it has.

(This procedure is based on using a DSLR, but I'm sure the principles will apply to most compact cameras too. For the record, I use an Olympus E420 DSLR with a 14-42mm Zuicko Digital lens.)

The way I set up my lume shots is very straightforward as follows:-

1. Mount camera on a tripod.

2. Set camera to Aperture Priority Mode.

3. Set F-stop to circa F10.

4. Set ISO to 100.

5. Set camera to manual focus.

6. Set camera to 2 second delayed shutter opening (to avoid camera shake).

7. Select location for the shot - a walk-in cupboard is ideal as you have no windows leaking in light.

8. Set up the shot with the lights on - it's much easier to get the manual focus correct when you can actually see what you're photographing! :lol:

9. Take some shots with the lights on to ensure focus and composition is as desired. Keep an eye out for unwanted relfections on the watch crystal. You might also want to hack the movement to stop the second hand blurring as it moves while the shutter is open (likely to be for anywhere between 30 and 60 seconds).

10. Switch off the lights in readiness for the shot.

11. "Charge" the lume in situ with a bright torch (I use an LED Lenser P7) without moving the watch to preserve focus, etc... If you move the watch to charge the lume then you need to start again! :facepalm:

12. Switch off the torch ;) and press the shutter button!