Sign in to follow this  
Guest 14060 or 16610?

A7753 Service & Analysis

Guest 14060 or 16610?

REPOST FROM RWI ORIGINAL THREAD: http://www.replica-watch.info/vb/showthrea...ouve-60596.html

My day job is pretty busy today, but I was able to spend my lunch hour tearing down the new A7753 movement. This recently released, much-hyped movement allows for the following:

* 3 - 6 - 9 subdial layout with running seconds at 9.

* no sunken datewheel.

* date adjusted by pushbutton located at 10:00.

My first impressions are that the A7753 is well-made. It can be reliable and keep good time for years and years with proper maintenance, not unlike the newest A7750s with which it shares the majority of its parts. Here are some fairly significant differences from its A7750 cousin:

* calendaring retaining plate, jumper, and spring.

* manual-set calendar driving pawl and gear.

* 3:00 subdial gearing.

* 2-position keyless works.

The movement I received was keeping good time. It was sent in for a full service and to repair a jammed datewheel which would not advance either in time-setting mode or via the pushbutton at 10:00. I noticed the mainspring did not "crunch" when reaching a full wind; evidently it was slipping on the barrel walls. This would obviously reduce the power reserve.

I also noticed that the movement was very dirty, with large chunks of dirt and various fibers (white and blue, mostly) found throughout. I even found a dried-up piece of lettuce or some other leaf. The keyless works were bone dry, though the stem and sliding/winding pinions were greased. None of the pivots had any oil on them (I checked thoroughly). The balance jewels *may* have been oiled, as they remained stuck to each other during removal. If you know A7750s, you know this is all very routine stuff.

I took many pics and will post back with more detail when I'm able. But I wanted the folks here to know a thorough teardown and analysis complete with pics is on its way.

Until next time...

G