Sign in to follow this  
Roivster

YACTH-MASTER JF V2, HOW TO CHANGE CRYSTAL TUTORIAL, PIC HEAVY

Roivster

Hello everybody

I got my new Yacth-master JF V2, and just after 2 hour the crystal had gotten a scratch, and this has never happened too me before.

This crystal is a mineral crystal, not a Scratch-proof sapphire crystal as announced on the TD’s sites.

Well I just have to change the Crystal, but how to??

I’m just I guy how loves watches and brings my watches to a watch smith when ever they need a service.

And bringing a rep to watch smith is not my thing.

Reason for writing this tutorial is that I could not find any info on how to remove bezel on a Yacht-Master her on the forum, goggle or on YouTube. Also I did not find any info on the crystal thickness and the height of the gasket.

Have read that bezel assemble is the same as on the Rolex Sub’s but there is some versions of the YM that do have a different bezel assemble and one can damage the spring/wire that holds the bezel to the watch.

My biggest worry was how to not break the bezel assemble, as I have done on a GMT, (had to ship the watch back to China to get it fixed).

This will help those how are thinking of changing crystal, tightening bezel on their Yacht-Master JF V2 watch.

Someone told me that to get the crystal out you will have to remove the case-back and take out the movement to get the job done.

Well that is not all true, you can get the crystal of by just removing the bezel, but I did it the hard way.

I removed the movement and discovered that one has to remove bezel to get the crystal mounted back inn.

This watch was very easy to work with, movement came out real easy and bezel came off without any pressure.

Will not go in to how to remove movement, there is tutorials on “how to” on the forum.

I did discover that I don’t need a crystal press to get the bezel back on this watch, I did use the press at first, but it did not press the bezel all the way down and left some play in it.