Sign in to follow this  
Monkeynut

Mineral Glass v Sapphire

Monkeynut

Hi,

I was wondering how liveable people find the mineral glass on their watches.

As a newbie my first order is a Breitling with the cheaper Quartz movement. I

might progress to mechanical movements as I gain more knowledge. I didn't

want to get a watch that may/may not give me issues that I don't know how

to deal with straight away and thus be disappointed.

I suppose my questions are how do you find the quartz movement watches?

Are they still a decent quality? Is the mineral glass very scratch prone, as

compared to sapphire glass. Lastly is the major difference in prices between

quartz/mechanical movements largely due to the movement itself or is it overall

quality.

Please don't flame me if all this has been asked before, I have searched and also used

google to search but still really couldn't find what I was after.

Cheers in advance

Nut

Edited by Monkeynut

AllergyDoc

http://www.crystalfit.com/faqs.html

I've had many watches with mineral crystals and never had any problems with them. I prefer the sapphire, of course, but none of my mineral cyrstals have been scratched or shattered, etc.

(Lot's of info on the net. Search "mineral watch crystal".)

greg_r

Mineral crystals are plenty strong, but yes they scratch a little more easily than sapphire. Personally, however, I don't find it an issue.

As far as quartz reps go, as you might expect, they vary in quality. Some use similar quality casings to the top of the line models, just exchanging dial and movement. Others are not so good. You should be able to tell from the dealer photos though. If in doubt, ask :johng:

d1isthe1