Sign in to follow this  
othniel888

Trusted Dealers with High Qual Sweeping Quartz Mov?

othniel888

Newbie question...Any reps with high quality (like mary or helena) with high quality japanese quartz movement/sweeping second hand instead of self winding? Rolex/Omega or other styles?

MikeMcNair

um, everyone has them. look for models with Swiss eta 2836-2 (28,800 beets per hr) for the smooth second hand sweep. but yeah, EVERY dealer on here has them.

Cynikal.Mindset

@Mike, he's looking for a super-quartz movement now a mechanical movement

MikeMcNair

oh, what would be the advantage of quartz?

greg_r

Robert (PWC) seems to be one of the very few selling smooth-sweep quartz reps. I know he has some APs, but I'm not sure what else is around - reps using these movements tend not to stay in production for very long.

othniel888
oh, what would be the advantage of quartz?

I'm new to this as a hobby. I've always liked battery watches for a couple of reasons. They are very accurate and are always ready, no winding/setting or putting in a "winder" box. Seems like a convincing replica with a battery quartz movement would be less expensive, but thats a newbie guess.

othniel888
@Mike, he's looking for a super-quartz movement now a mechanical movement

Exactly, thanks for helping clarify my question. I'm still learning some of the watch hobby terms.

KBH

I've heard rumors but have never actually seen one of these super quartz. I also was under the impressions that the chrono hand would sweep but the actual second hand still ticked.

Somebody, please show me where to see one of these.

Ska

Um yeah but where's the soul and the beauty?

Otherwise you're just wearing a casio with a fancy case.

othniel888
um, everyone has them. look for models with Swiss eta 2836-2 (28,800 beets per hr) for the smooth second hand sweep. but yeah, EVERY dealer on here has them.