Sign in to follow this  
shr3y

Yachtmaster date Dial issues

shr3y

Hi All.

Been a lurker on RWG for much time now. Decided i would take the jump and put a post asking for advice.

I have a Yachtmaster Everose gold.... had it for a while now - just replaced the rubberB strap with the rolex oysterflex like the gen.

BUT....

am really not that happy with the date dial, doesn't seem well aligned and not great numerals....

any advice???

IMG_3155_zpsvnvmbofn.jpg

Thanks!!

onionbag

Nice to see you posting. :thumbsup2:

Moved to Watch Repair, Upgrade & Reference.

GenTLe

I hope that the 2 in that way is just a distortion of the cyclops...

Anyway it is possible to fix it, but it requires the capability to:

- open the case

- remove the movement from the case

- remove the hands

- remove the dial

- remove the date wheel

- detach the date wheel overlay (DWO) from the date wheel

- reinstall the date wheel

- glue back the DWO with the appropriate glue, in a perfectly centered way and without messing around with the glue

- reinstall the dial and hands, clean up dial, hands and inner side of the crystal

- reinstall the movement in the case

- regulate a bit the movement (or check it's ok)

- grease the gaskets and close the case

I'd say 3h work, more or less, for someone that has some practice.

To obtain better results it is possible to buy a BK DWO and use that (still all the job has to be done as described).

Ah, I was forgetting: all this is that's a 2836 movement based watch.

Cheers, GenTLe

myaz

Welcome.

Only 2 solutions. Install different date dial or stick on a date wheel overlay. Doable but might not be worth the hassle. You can tackle this yourself if you enjoy this type of hobby or get a modder to do it for you. Unless this has great sentimental value, I'd treat myself to a new and improved model. Good luck

shr3y

Thanks for that GenTle - may be beyond my ability - i have gone as far as step 2 as had to clean the inside of the crystal.