Thommo82

1973 Bulova Snorkel

Thommo82

I picked this one up from eBay a little while back

It's missing it's crown but still has original stem

I gave the bracelet a good clean up with WD40 which worked quite nicely

IMG_7750.jpg

IMG_7755.jpg

The movement looks gorgeous, though I don't think the back had been removed for many years (if ever)

as it gave me much grief

IMG_7751.jpg

IMG_7752.jpg

IMG_7754.jpg

I'm a total newb and therefore I'm asking some advice on a couple of issues.

First is a good way to clean up the dial, which as you can see is much worse for wear. I'm hoping it's superficial and can be restored without too much fuss

My own research found that baby oil on a cue tip is a good place to start, and also to avoid anything harsh on the dial so as to not cause further damage

Would like to know what methods you guys have had luck with

IMG_7753.jpg

Second problem is that although the seconds hand moves around with barely a touch of the watch, and it moves beautifully smooth too, I'm guessing 28,800 beats or more

The hour and minute hands seem to be stuck in place

I screwed on a crown from another watch, however I was not able to set either time or date.

This was rather disappointing

Anyway, whatever advice you have on this watch is much appreciated

A local watch place was very unhelpful

Wouldn't even give me a price for a service, I'm guessing they were hoping just to get the watch then charge me an arm and a leg

Hopefully I can get this vintage piece up and running

Cheers guys

Thommo82

0 replies

Cheers

Mike on a bike

I guess guys here need to knit a bit more LOL ,we know..................

wannashmooze

Not sure i would do anything to that dial, its got a nice wear look to it. As far as crown goes, sourcing a new crown should not be hard if you cna maybe measure the stem with a digital caliper or just buy a old lot of stems on ebay and you will probably find one that fits

Diver Dave