joshjoe2

Aquanaut A2824 Review

joshjoe2

This is a really beautiful watch and also my first rep watch.  For me, personally, I prefer it to the PP Nautilus (Feel free to disagree here :D:D )The Aquanaut has a very no-nonsense and low profile watch design and the rubber strap is super nice (With a lovely Vanilla scent to boot). Clean and sporty so it goes well with a Polo shirt or even a casual suit. It should be a good fit for casual to smart/business casual occasions. 

I don't know what rep factory produced this, or what version this is, but I think it's pretty old as Josh from PC is clearing stock for this. The only difference I can spot between this and the Gen version is that the numerals in the Gen 'pop' out a little more while the engraving is also deeper. But then again I'm no expert. By the way, the gen version for this is the black dial version, there's no blue dial version. Gen Aquanaut Blue dial is the 5168G White Gold 42mm in blue rubber strap.

The only thing I really don't like about the Aquanaut is resizing the strap. It's super troublesome and if you cut the strap too short you're pretty much fucked as you will need a new one. So I cut it one or two links at a time and it took me about an hour plus to get it to fit right :rolleyes: Plus, with many people staying in countries with four seasons, this watch probably has to be worn loose for expansion during warmer seasons :facepalm:

The Gen Aquanaut uses a Patek Philippe calibre 324 SC (Movement is seriously a real masterpiece)  while this one a Clone ETA 2824. This and the black dialled version costs 169 USD (on special offer at PC) and I think it's pretty reasonable considering the movement and it's also a good quality rep.