DB Cooper

Is this possible?

DB Cooper

I'm pretty new at rep collecting and not to good with the technical stuff but I'm learning a lot here. I thought horology involved hors, but I digress...

If you removed the case back and crown on a typical rep, and if you pushed the stem in, could you maneuver the movement out of the case without removing the stem first? I'm asking because I've read here where you can mess up the movement but not removing the stem correctly.  I was just wondering if the movement could be switched without removing the stem, in case I ever wanted to install a better movement in the future.

movintage

Not the way to do it but there is a possibility I guess.

After removing the caseback,  remove the crown,  then remove the movt. holder(s), there might be enough room to lift the movt. up from opposite the stem tube and slide the movt. with stem attached.

NCRich

Sometimes.  But it can be very hard to remove the crown since on most cases its impossible to grab the stem and hold it.

movintage
1 minute ago, movintage said:

:blowup:

Edited by movintage

fatarms

If you took your shoes off,  could you take your underwear off without taking your pants off?

I'll hang up and listen to your answer off the air. 

• Like 1

Faker

Practice on the cheap movement you are going to remove…. So what if you mess it up…. Better to mess that up than the good one you are putting in. 

you do known that putting in a new movement is more involved that just  the stem….. 

You will need to do the Dial and  hands too.  The stem removal is just the first part of a multi step process. 

Mystery Shopper

Tinkerers section here

DB Cooper