cvp3

SQUALE vs TANDORIO - results may surprise you

cvp3

Tandorio 40mm Coke NH34 GMT lefty with Sapphire crystal w/cyclops on 316L SS jubilee $55 (at ALX summer sale with RetailMeNot rebate)

LINKY - https://a.aliexpress.com/_mLOa8de

VS

Squale 40mm Coke ETA 2893-2 GMT 30 Atmos Ceramica, superluminova on 316L SS jubilee $600 (bought from SeriousWatch with a serious personal discount)

LINKY - https://www.gnomonwatches.com/products/30-atmos-black-red-gmt-ceramica-40mm-jubilee

I’m no watch expert….just a fan of watches under $1,500 which is my personal limit. So is the Squale worth 10X? And FYI no grading on a curve for specs…..you either punch above your weight or you don’t.

PRICE - When you consider what a watch does and costs, it’s really hard to argue that this Squale is worth 10 Tandorios. Once we get through the comparison I think you’ll agree.

T-1 S-0

DEPTH RATING - Squale uses Atmos (atmospheres) in fact 30 of them and Tandorio states 20 bar. The difference between atmos and bar is 1 bar = .986923 atmos. So really a rounding error. But 30 is in fact 50% more than 20, so Squale wins

T-1 S-1 (our first of many ties to come)

CASE FINISHING - Some differences in polish vs brush but overall both are very nice, no sharp edges and no misses or obvious cost cutting. We have a push here.

T-2 S-2

BEZEL - The Squale is ceramic and really looks the part, however this makes the red more muted. The engraved numbers are also thinner and there’s 90 clicks for a full orbit. Action is a little muddy actually, but zero back play and hits the marks perfectly, relief cuts are smooth. The Tandorio is aluminum and the red really pops. Clicks are super precise and have a very nice audible ‘snick’ to them with zero back play and again hitting all the marks. Relief cuts are grippier (better for a true dive watch), but not sharp. 120 clicks here for a full round trip. Close but advantage Tandorio.

T-3 S-2