lap9387

Wearing reps and big fines

lap9387

Hey RWG

just seen a big online campaign about wearing reps and fake gear when going into France and other countries inc the us…

latest thing I seen was on instagram

https://www.instagram.com/reel/Cx0w_pfNWlc/?igshid=MzRlODBiNWFlZA==

what’s your thoughts on this?

they really going to check everyone’s bags and watches to see if they’re genuine when we’re travelling??

really regret not buying a gen omega sea master 300m in Tokyo now

deju

It will be a cold day in hell that they stop passengers who may be wearing designer clothes/watches/bags. 

Yes they may confiscate a fake in your luggage, but something you’re wearing….pahaha. The lawsuit if they get it wrong would far outweigh any benefits 

johnparker007

I'm just a newbie here, but certainly for the higher end reps, an untrained (in the art of replica watch identification) customs official is going to have no idea whether to say with confidence 'This passenger is wearing a fake, don't let them through'... so it kinda sounds unenforceable.

Plus this would slow down boarding, so who's paying for all the extra person-hours it'd cost? 

I do like the idea of having to present both your passport, and your watch when you go through customs though, and the passport person would have a loupe and be studying all the luxury watches :)  ...but it sounds crackers, like the British/EU governments asking for a 'backdoor' into end-to-end encrypted messaging apps - which is impossible for true end-to-end encryption.

Edited by johnparker007
  • Like 2

GenTLe

Not going to happen. All barks and no bites, unless you travel with 10 watches in your luggage...

• Like 2

yawn

They most likely going to tax you for the original article price than confiscate it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

edwinowl