RolexCollector

New Project: Rolex Explorer 1016 Tropical - Raffledials build

RolexCollector

Hello Guys, 

Back in the days i had a genuine 1601 on a Jubilee, i wear it a lot as it was my only watch, is the one who put me in watches, i later gifted that watch to my son, and now started to think about a similar size models to build.

I always love the clean look of Explorers models and the plain bezel, and decided to try to build a 1016 tropical gilt’s one after seeing various pic’s on the web. (I’m new to this kind of build but in the past worked on some of my genuine cheap vintage watch bought online, after lot of trial and errors, a lot of tools bought to repair and work on watches, i was pretty confident the project would be fun and doable for me) 

The inspiration was this one: 

K67qk3.webp

I see the different option for this kind of build, and with raise of the price of the genuine parts using a gen 16XX case was out of my budget, so i decided to order raffledials parts.

I ordered raffle 36mm case with lug holes, tropical gilt dial and hands, and a 6mm brevet crown (this are not very common nowadays but was the correct crown installed back in the 60’s) 

I then sourced a NH35 movement that has 21,600 bph (low beat that mimic better the old 1560 found in the 1016) and start my journey.

I do not want a immaculate piece’s and try to put some age to the case, i polished and repolished the case couple (still think i have to do a bit more) and put some aging signs on it.

I replaced the stock crystal with a rounded T22 i found locally in a replacement parts shop (had to enlarge a bit the inside diameter of the raffles bezel to fit as it was a bit too much larger) relumed the dial and hands with a non glowing mixture that i do myself with models paint and coffee, and spray the dial with a matte varnish.

Assembled everything together and really happy with the result.