Sign in to follow this  
tommylad

Problem with new Patek Philippe Nautilus

tommylad

Hi guys,

The photos really let the problem speak for itself. I won it from Robert's auction for $69 and am pleased with the watch apart from the loose dial marker. It also looks like the one at 12 may be very slightly crooked.

Bearing in mind I have never opened up a watch before, how easy would this be to fix? Can anyone give me a step by step of what to do?

If it will be too difficult for a total novice I don't know if I want to send it away to get repaired. Might put it up for sale if there are any takers to save me and Robert hassle.

But fingers crossed it is an easy fix. As usual, apologies for the poor quality photos.

Thanks in advance.

016.jpg

015.jpg

houndoggie

let me a side picture of the watch please.

houndoggie

some PP reps the bezel and crystal is screwed the case at the sides. Simply unscrew the screws and remove the bezel/crystal and reaffix the marker (no glue should be needed)

otherwise you'll have to decase the movement... relatively easy.

SeanusMaximus

Still not seeing the appeal of the nautilus.. hmm..

tommylad

Hope this helps

028.jpg

027.jpg

026.jpg

Luthier

Easy fix - unscrew caseback, remove the stem, remove mov't with dial, 1/10th of the drop of the glue on the back of the marker, preferrably in the center, and place it back, there should be dots to attach it in the right place. Wait til glue dry, assemble the watch.

SeanusMaximus
Easy fix - unscrew caseback, remove the stem, remove mov't with dial, 1/10th of the drop of the glue on the back of the marker, preferrably in the center, and place it back, there should be dots to attach it in the right place. Wait til glue dry, assemble the watch.

always on hand :rofl:

Luthier

I did it with a few of my old reps, always works well.

tommylad

Thanks Luth.