Sign in to follow this  
J.Eric

Stipped crown tube

J.Eric

Hey everybody,

I got a sea dweller 4000ft before i found the nut house. Decent quality except it has a DSSD dial. I only paid $65usd for it and as a daily wearer i am not too worried about destoying it. I work in a restaurant and everything is stainless steal so.........

The problem now is the crown tube is stripped and the crown will not screw down. I have managed to keep the crown closed using o-rings but really would like to get it "fixed."

So the question would be where can i get another tube?

I already have plans to change the dial and maybe the movement (it has the 21j), but thats months away.

Thanks for the help!

Eric

Here is a pic of it. Just does not look right lol

042711034411.jpg

Edited by J.eric

Member X

TBH I think you might do best to write off that $65 to experience - the amount it will cost to get a new crown and tube, get the watch stripped down and rebuilt, swap the dial and the movement, would be more than the cost to buy a whole new watch that was much more accurate in the first place.

Timeshops Rolex offers are great value so have a look round at all the different options from al the different Trusted Dealers and see what you like! :)

J.Eric
TBH I think you might do best to write off that $65 to experience - the amount it will cost to get a new crown and tube, get the watch stripped down and rebuilt, swap the dial and the movement, would be more than the cost to buy a whole new watch that was much more accurate in the first place.

Timeshops Rolex offers are great value so have a look round at all the different options from al the different Trusted Dealers and see what you like! :)

I know i can just get another one, i wanted to use it as practice for modding.

I got several cheapies that i have been playing with. Watch repair and building

seem like the next step of this hobby since i've always loved to tinker with stuff