Sign in to follow this  
B5GLX

GMT Master II DOA - 3 options: Opinions?

B5GLX

I received a GMT Master II (Asian ETA) today from a TD. It looks great, but it was DOA. As soon as I opened the box I could see that the second hand was not moving at all.

Everything else seems to work fine. I can manually wind the watch, set the time, the GMT hand, as well as the date. The watch just won't start. Other than the rotor moving when I shake it, There is no sound from the watch at all. I tried slapping the watch in my palm, front, back, side--but it just doesn't run at all. I have not opened the case back because I'm a noob.

I am in contact with the TD so I am not worried that this will get settled, but am thinking about options and was hoping more experienced members might have some good advice.

Would a problem like this be typically easy to fix? Or could it be something more major? Or is it just too hard to guess?

This is what I think are my options:

Option 1: Let TD handle all repairs/replacement.

Pros: If it's anything major, they'll take care of it.

Cons: Cost and time to ship back to China and return again.

Option 2: Find a local watch smith in Canada (or USA) to repair it.

Pros: Don't have to ship it overseas; can have the watch serviced and water tested at the same time.

Cons: If the repair is major, it may cost more in the long run or they might not be able to fix it.

Option 3: Have it serviced by someone in Taipei.

Pros: My dad is flying to Taiwan on Friday. He can go to a local watch smith there and ask them to repair and service and water testing.

Cons: If the repair is major, they might not be able to fix it. I have to trust my dad to take the rep through customs and hope he doesn't get hassled.

I'm not sure which is the better option to choose. Opinions?

johnnoblin