Sign in to follow this  
peisistratos11

PAM 243 noob V2 Vs Genuine...?

peisistratos11

Hey there.

I came through several posts examining pam 243 H against N factory (the majority leaning towards the N factory)...so...i finaly pulled the triger.

Now...i have to say i've got mixed feelings about the piece. Inarguably a "solid" piece (to say the least) though i'm not quite certain as to why it is being characterised a super-rep.

I claim to be no expert but i thought the engraving was suposed to account for 500 pieces (i.e. read xxx/500) whereas this one reads 158/300.

Further to this, i've spot a tiny piece of fiber on the dial.

Both of them nothing major or immediately identifiable, however appart from these, the watch gives me a wrong feeling in terms of quality. Nothing major but i'm growing curious to inspect it properly.

Again...i'm no expert but rather curious...so i was wondering whether anyone came across a review/comparison to the real thing.

Thanks in advance.

P.

kolchak

I wouldn't know or care what #'s are stamped / engraved on my rep cases and have come to expect a tiny Asian pube on the dial (sometimes on the Asian movement under the hood) but understand your point about "feeling" quality. I don't have a 243 so can't comment on its feel, but it certainly looks the part.

All my keepers "feel" quality when worn - SOH's, AP diver V3, cartier santos, most recent N/H factory pams, etc.

Check one of the larger fora for a 243 comparison

jeffw69

Easy solution man: buy the gen and do a side by side review. :P:

10:10 Watch Repair

Getting a watch perfect costs a lot of money. If you can't live with 99% then reps are not for you.

peisistratos11

I suppose buying the Gen should do the trick.

And don't misunderstand me...the watch is OK, could certainly leave with it; it just doen't feel the same quality as my other reps (PAM 26, 111) .