Sign in to follow this  
3ainawi

Paying by Western Union

3ainawi

Hey all

Still a bit of a noob here, looking for your input.

Tried making a payment to a TD via WU online, this was declined by my bank - for reason I'm not sure. Within 5 minutes had a telephone call from a number claiming to be from fraud prevention at my bank.

I didn't answer, just checked the voice message. They also called my land line.

Is this normal? I may just visit a branch and make the payment that way instead, do you recommend this instead?

Cheers

Balad1

Probably for real, call the # on the back of your CC and ask for that department.

Cyril_Clunge

Trying to pay by WU online in the UK can be a right pain in the arse. I don't bother anymore, it's much easier to just got to my local WU office.

3ainawi

I don't really want to call back, how I explain the transaction?

Balad1

They might have a freeze on your card?

3ainawi

Unsure, will have to wait till tomorrow to see whether I can make any other transactions on it.

Just concerned about explaining why I was sending a couple of hundred quid to some random guy in China lol.

dingle

Happens all the time. Tell them to let the transaction go thru. No need to explain what it is for. Just state that you authorize the transaction.

Silverspeed

No need to explain the transaction itself....al they want to know if it was you that wanted to transfer the funds

Balad1

Unsure, will have to wait till tomorrow to see whether I can make any other transactions on it.

Just concerned about explaining why I was sending a couple of hundred quid to some random guy in China lol.

Man up and call the fuckers!

3ainawi

Hahaha maybe I should! In any case, I think I'll make the payment from a WU branch instead.

DKaiser Söze

No doubt. thousands of plausible explanations. being dodgy only complicates the matter

3ainawi

Sorted it now, though my card is frozen for a while.

Part of the fun!

Balad1

Ya know, if my card got frozen...