Sign in to follow this  
cygnus

Hi, I'm a newbie in the replica world

cygnus

Hello all,

what an interesting find, this RWG is!

I've been a watch collector for a little over a year, and not a single Rep so far - and what I've been missing!!! My current collection (<20) includes homages (I've previously had good success with Getat, so it's sad to see he's letting himself down on these boards); some "mushroom" brands (which I'm now coming to think of as poor homages of better Replicas!), and a few new brands (e.g. Deep Blue, Android).

I've learnt a thing or two about various movements, but still found greg_r's summary on replica movements very good early reading.

I've been cultured to see homages=good, replicas=bad, so I'm going though some mental re-adjustment right now. Some of the examples shown from the TD's make my eyes water - such magnificent eye candy!

I'm a sucker for manual/auto's, in particular with display backs, as I love seeing the movements in action. Homage movements are so 'sterile', so I'm looking forward to having some of the beautifully artistic ones available via Rep's in my collection soon. Are the photo's of real rep's (oxymoron - does that make sense?), or of gen watches?

Complications always seem attractive until I own them, and then they look over done, so I'm becoming a bit of a minimalist. My current particular interest is Regulateur (or Regulator) design, and it was while searching for samples that I ended up learning about RWG. I've seen a lovely SINN model, and a gorgeous JAEGER LE COULTRE model on TD sites, but can't see anything of my 'grail' which is the Louis Erard Excellence Régulateur. If anyone spots one, or can point me in the right direction, I'd be very grateful.