Sign in to follow this  
DomWash

New guy from South Africa

DomWash

Hi everyone.

My first post! I am a noob to the rep scene, and learning very quickly.

I just made my first purchase, using Silix. At first, I had chosen about 5 of the economy watches - so much to choose from! But then after doing some research on the forums, I learned from others who had begun this way and regretted it. I do however only have a $400 budget or the wife will get angry(ier), so I settled for just 2 watches:

1. Hublot Big Bang Limited Black Ceramic - http://www.silix-pri....oducts_id=4760

And because I wanted a Panerai but couldn't afford an expensive one, I found this Titanium automatic which looks like a good compromise between a cheaper version, and spending over $100 more, which I can't afford to do, or getting nothing:

2. http://www.silix-pri....oducts_id=4411

The Titanium of the Panerai should be heavier than the cheap steel they use on the cheaper versions, right? Also it doesn't say "Mineral Crystal", but "Synthetic Crystal". Not sure if there is a difference, or if this is similiar to the Sapphire Crystal (a guy can dream)... any knowledge here would be appreciated.

Loving this, and planning on building this hobby. Please let me know what you think of these choices, as I have ordered, but not yet paid, so may be able to change! I specifically want to know if anyone has experience with Panerais from Silix - are the more expensive options worth it for a Panerai? I'm aware a manual winding mechanism on a Panerai is more accuarate as a rep, but is it a better mechanism to automatic? Does the Sapphire Crystal AR make a huge difference?

Little about me - South African. Exposure to 'economy' reps by visiting flea markets and buying some overseas (mainly Canal st, New York). The reps I own: Rolex Oyster Perpetual Date, Breitling for Bentley, Breitling Navimeter, Breitling Transocean Unitime fantasy, TAG Monaco, TAG Carrera 17, mostly 21j cheapies etc.