Sign in to follow this  
TRANSPORTER

What exactly is a fantasy watch

TRANSPORTER

Hi guys as a noob I thought I'd better place this one here before I'm shot down in a fireball for being stoopid!!! I've seen this phrase a few times now " that's just a fantasy watch" now does this mean either it's a design that a particular gen maker has never designed or made or does it mean that it's a fantasy watch because the gen watch is seriously seriously expensive and so it just becomes a fantasy to own a gen watch?

Cheers for any answers. First rep ordered now awaiting arrival, Sixil so far has been A1

dingle
it's a design that a particular gen maker has never designed

this

jeffw69

A fantasy watch is one were the rep makers took their creative skills and put them to work.

Meaning, the fantasy model is not actually available in Gen form.

RichardMiami

We generally refer to a watch as 'fantasy' when the rep maker puts a brand name on a watch which the brand NEVER produced.

While all reps have flaws, the term 'fantasy' is reserved for the special cases where the watch is not even close, in fact, no attempt was made at being close.

I hope this helps.

Monty010

a fantasy watch is a watch that was never made, it may look a lot like the real thing, case wise etc but it will have a wrong color dial, hands, diamonds etc

some may look really nice but don't expect anyone that has any notion of watches to believe that is a real rolex, omega etc.

and silix has some nice stuff and price wise not bad either

greg_r

What they said.

Although there are occasions when there's a fantasy model that's particularly nice - just not a copy of a gen.

I've always thought that the below, for instance, was the prettiest watch that Panerai never made ;)

radiomirrg-060811.JPG

Admittedly, though, this is a rare exception - most 'fantasy' models are crap.

Corv99