Sign in to follow this  
frogflyer

Seiko "Sumo" Arrival! (Pic Heavy)

frogflyer

I apologize in advance for the less than professional pictures. Also, I am a amateur reviewer and this my very first review. I am sure I don't cover everything, and obviously this comes from my point of view as someone who has always wanted one of these.

Ok, so I have been waiting for this for some time. This model is part of the PROSPEX line. It arrived from Japan (you can't get in the U.S.) very well packed, with a simple, no frills box housing the watch. I have taken some pics with it next to my BK sub just for size comparison.

IMG_1271_zps2eb8ff52.jpgIMG_1272_zps21b9d0b8.jpgIMG_1273_zps429ca2bf.jpgIMG_1275_zpsa6f0f501.jpg

In person the watch is beautiful. The pictures that I viewed while perusing the net for an AD just don't do it justice. The one thing I was worried about once I had already purchased was the size of the band. With such a large case design I thought the band would look ridiculously small. It doesn't! The way the case lugs gently curve downward at the ends allows the case to sit nicely on the wrist and the band actually just tapers naturally and helps to balance the watch, IMO.

As you can see in the next couple of pictures, the Seiko case is much larger than the sub. It should probably be compared to a 45mm PO, but I don't have one. :giggle:

IMG_1277_zpsb8687b11.jpg

As you can see the crown position is different on the Seiko, and it doesn't have crown guards. I think on this model the guards would take away from the overall look of the watch. The bezel is also recessed into case of the Seiko. Not everyone would like this, and actually I am not sure I will like that for diving. It does look nice though and adds to the unique look of this model. The Seiko also has a 120 click unidirectional bezel that feels very smooth as its turned.

IMG_1280_zps8dbd47e0.jpgIMG_1278_zps50236f93.jpgIMG_1279_zpsc02c09de.jpg