Sign in to follow this  
Jase

Calibre 16 day/date (quartz)

Jase

Like our resident Tag aficionado SSteel, I'm a lover of Tags and have been for a long time.

Years and years ago when I was an apprentice, I found a link model on the bus on my way to work and after handing it over to the police, it never got claimed and I got it back.

Loved that watch until some low life pond scum stole it when they broke into my house years later.

Anyway,

Got this recently from Silix as a test drive for the 7750 version. If I like that, I may buy the gen later this year.

Impressed to say the least. What a great looking watch with a fab dial. Day and date line up nice, dial markers are near enough spot on. Like it lots.

It's running a Miyota quartz chrono movement, I only know this as I had to open her up cos of a couple of issues.

It had a few hairs floating around the dial and I noticed straight away what seemed to be some sort of ghosting reflections of the dial on the underside of the crystal.

Case back off, stem out (more on that later), movement ring out and then the movement itself.

Removed hairs and other dust on the dial face and a fingerprint on the '1' of the 15 marker with some rodico, then looked at the inner surface of the crystal.

Very dirty. Those little anti-static cloths you get with phone screen protectors come in handy for stuff like this. Little bit of IPA on a cloth then polished up nicely. Amazing the black dirt that came off.

Back to the movement. It states 'push' and shows an arrow to point to the place to push the small pin for stem removal. A good long hard look for it resulted in nothing. x10 loupe and I still couldn't see it. Hmmm? was only when I pushed the stem back in from being out at hand adjust position did the little bugger show itself. So if you come across this in the future, remember the stem release pin hides if the stem is pulled out to time adjust position.