Sign in to follow this  
SSTEEL

Word is out locally I can repair watches. Found out at party tonight

SSTEEL

My wife's cousin had a surprise 40th Birthday party today, he's a musician, in a band, and doing well in Finland. Party was great with live music.

I was outside having a smoke, and a guy from the party came out to me, and said, I hear you can fix watches?

I looked at him, and wondered where the hell he heard that lol

It turns out my mother-in-law has dropped the word I have been working on watches, and fixed hers, and my father-in-laws, not to mention replacing batteries on other watches of theres.

Anyhow, this guy had a Certina like this one...

Certina_Watch_10.jpg

He was wearing it, and told me it keeps stopping whilst he is at work, but works fine when he's out jogging, or out and about fishing etc. I asked what he did for a living, and he said he works at a desk by day, and plays guitar in a band at the weekends. (the latter relates to the conversation).

He plays the guitar with his right hand, and wears his watch on the left wrist. His watch would stop whilst playing his guitar for a couple of hours.

I asked him if I could take a quick look at his watch, and he took it off. I checked the movement, 25J auto, clear case back, rotor was working as it should. I then check the crown to see if it was a screw down or not, and it wasn't, so I proceeded to manually wind it, and the guy said, what you doing??

I told him, you can manually wind his watch too, and should do if you are not very active during a certain period of time.

He was all surprised, and said, I never knew about that, thanks. I proceeded to give him instructions on how to use his watch :giggle:

Sorry for the long thread, but it really tickled me that this guy didn't know his own watch.

Whilst at this same party earlier today, again, outside having a smoke, my wife's cousin came out, and was asking about my Carrera I was wearing, and he said, I heard you built this watch yourself?