Sign in to follow this  
Corv99

Lets see your Big Pilots then...

Corv99

Hi all

I think I need to have one of these bad boys in my collection.. But want a decent one, I had a cheapy and actually liked it, I gave to my brother for Xmas 2 years back and he loves it..

But think I need a nice version.. I'm not an expert on these, and have had a look on various forums,

Basically think I'm after

a 5004 or 02

Seems to be that the fixed power reserve is way to go , is this for movement reliability ?

I like the version with the triangle and rectangle markers stuck on, rather than painted if that makes sense..

Date wheel sorted as really sunken ones, due to window being small look a bit rough..

Sunburst grey dial seems nice.. But little undecided still

After a keeper for this a reckon, so want to get it right, maybe look afor aftermarket or gen strap

But open to see what you guys have got, or other suggestions, maybe I've missed some awesome version that's out there.. Not sure if there are different factory versions etc but this is a classic watch for me and think I need to get it in the box..

Cheers!

Wriggles

Seems to be that the fixed power reserve is way to go , is this for movement reliability ?

Interesting, these are something I've been interested in but size concerns me as I think just a tad too big for me. Will be following the responses with interest.

AFAIK the ones with faux power reserve are considered better because the date wheel isn't sunken, the working power reserves are the ones with a sunken date wheel.

Outside of that I just think they look great, particularly the sunburst grey dial model

TheTinMan

Maybe not what you had in mind as it is sterile, but this one clocks in at 47mm, it's hand wound asian, and goes for 48 hours (easily) after a full wind:

9799099184_c2e4d4e1c0_z.jpg

I love that watch!

Corv99

Thanks guys,

Interesting on sunken date wheel .. Maybe that's whats meant by reliability .. Fixed PR doesn't bother me..

greg_r