Sign in to follow this  
Watchlover1996

Does this look like genuine stingray leather???

Watchlover1996

So i just recently bought online a blue colored stingray leather watch band and had come in recently .

Now i am no experts in the world of leathers which is why i am asking anyone if they know what genuine stingray leather feels likeand could tell me the texture? and if this looks like genuine stingray? :help3:

unnamed-24_zps74de7ff4.jpg

TheInthusiest

Something about it makes me want to say no... the skins little ridges should be closer together... But then again, it could just be this particular strap. The seam looks nice when it is bonded at the ends.

How much did you pay for it?

myaz

Can't help you there, and just my opinion, but if it's genuine stingray, it's still a poor imitation of plastic……sorry :(

mysterio

I thought that was cobblestone. :lol:

Seriously, there are two types of stingray leather, one with unpolished scales which kinda look like the one in your picture or polished which I already saw and it's smooth. Can't be too sure about the unpolished stingray hide, maybe Serge or McJules or some other strap maker can chime in.

TheInthusiest

Here are some gen stingray straps and bracelets.

U9WL9hS.png

w2wzPTA.jpg

ZESa3n2.jpg

8uuBQfx.png

8qmXI2T.png

c2cn5IR.jpg

D325C1S.png

SCU9zay.jpg

3AayURB.png

qcPXSw5.jpg

Watchlover1996
Something about it makes me want to say no... the skins little ridges should be closer together... But then again, it could just be this particular strap. The seam looks nice when it is bonded at the ends.

Haha like 35$ on amazon pretty cheap so that's why I was asking lol.. But yeah I was pretty skepticle about it when I got it & I follow spejeweler on insta too!:D

TheInthusiest

Haha like 35$ on amazon pretty cheap so that's why I was asking lol.. But yeah I was pretty skepticle about it when I got it & I follow spejeweler on insta too! :D

Whats yo insta? LOL

Watchlover1996