Sign in to follow this  
Springbokkie

Advice sought for Pam strap

Springbokkie

Hi

Can anyone tell me will a Asso strap work with a deployment clasp?

In the process of buying a PAM188 H Daylight and the strap that is being offered is not to my hubby liking.

He likes the Asso tan calf/ suede.

And likes deployment clasp.

We are both complete novices .. So I don't know if I am asking a silly question here.

But would appreciate your feedback.

Cheers

Springbokkie

grb

Yes but you must get the correct strap. If you look at the end that attaches to the buckle there is a cut out for the tongue of the buckle to sit, for a tang this is 4mm wide for deployant it's 7mm wide, of course if you want you can get a tang strap and try and cut 3mm out

grb

Look at the size of the gap cut out in no 4 compared to it's equivalent in no3. That's the difference between the two styles of buckle you are after

DSC_0002-1_zpsbd22fc58.jpg

Springbokkie

Grb thank you so so much for explaining this to me.

Most grateful.

Kleen™

I've converted several tang-straps to fit a deployant. It takes two minutes, providing you use a VERY sharp knife/stanley...

grb

I've converted several tang-straps to fit a deployant. It takes two minutes, providing you use a VERY sharp knife/stanley...

Agree entirely

grb

Only problem is the cut is deeper on the tang over the depolyant so you have a 1mm extra gap which is hardly noticeable

Springbokkie

Thanks for the advice guys, greatly appreciate it.

Springbokkie

This has all come about because I received QC pics with a poor quality 'croc like' strap .. That wasn't in the pic for the watch I've paid for..

When pointed out I'm told that I have to pay extra for that same strap and this is what factory has provided ($348 for watch.. Which has image depicting the superior strap).

Enquired about the Asso strap and if this could be used with the deployant clasp... Reply was no it can't.

But thank you so much for advice.

Have a great day

grb